Step 3: Scientific and Ethical Review Committee

Requests for sample and data access, and project proposals are reviewed by Helsinki Biobank's Scientific and Ethical Review Committee. The recommendation will be based on following items:

  • linkage of the proposed research project with Helsinki Biobank's research focus and aims
  • the scientific merits of the proposed research project
  • the amount of material requested in relation to its availability within Helsinki Biobank sample repository
  • the qualification and resources of the team carrying out the proposed research project


 Composition of the Scientific and Ethical Review Committee:

  • Mikko Niemi, Chief Physician, HUSLAB (chairman)
  • Ari Ristimäki, Head of Department, HUSLAB (vice chairman)
  • Maaret Castrén, Chief of Department, Emergency Medicine and Services
  • Taneli Raivio, Chief Physician, Children and Adolescents
  • Ville Pettilä, Researcher, Perioperative, Intensive Care and Pain Medicine
  • Oskari Heikinheimo, Head of Department, Gynecology and Obstetrics
  • Tiina Paunio, Chief Physician, Psychiatry
  • Leena-Maija Aaltonen, Head of Department, Head and Neck Center
  • Hannele Yki-Järvinen, Chief Physician, Internal Medicine and Rehabilitation
  • Karl Lemström, Head of Department, Heart and Lung Center
  • Sirpa Leppä, Professor, Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Nina Lindfors, Chief Physician, Musculoskeletal and Plastic Surgery
  • Annamari Ranki, Chief Physician, Inflammation Center
  • Caj Haglund, Chief Physician, Abdominal Center
  • Henna Tyynismaa, Academy Research Fellow, Research Programs Unit (RPU), University of Helsinki
  • Jaakko Kaprio, Director, Institute for Molecular Medicine Finland (FIMM)
  • Ulla Järvi, Secretary General, The Finnish Association of Science Editors and Journalists (FASEJ)


Meetings of the Scientific and Ethical Review Committee:

  • 28 August 2017 (deadline for applications 7 August)
  • 25 September 2017 (deadline for applications 4 September)

  • 23 October 2017 (deadline for applications 2 October)

  • 20 November 2017 (deadline for applications 30 October)

  • 18 December 2017 (deadline for applications 27 November)